Allergies · Baby nursery · Chemical sensitivity · Child's rooms · Children · Eco-baby · eco-friendly · Ecofamily · Environmental · Green · Interior design · Murals · Organic · Parents · Safe · Toys

Why should you even read my blog?

I’m not an environmental expert. I’m not a social activist. I’m not a child psychologist. I’m not an interior designer. Why should you even read my blog?

Now that I’ve cleared up my lack of credentials and degrees, let me tell you what experience that I do have…

I was a child once…

I was an extremely creative child. I was never bored… my imagination kept me very occupied. I was never lonely… I had imaginary playmates. I really didn’t need any manufactured toys. I had a desire for cardboard boxes, pencils, remnants of fabric and trim, paper, mud, wires, sticks, stones, paints, egg cartons, wood scraps, shiny foil, empty bottles, markers, paper clips and safety pins, broken jewelry, buttons and dandelion weeds. The possibilities were endless…

I was an artist…

I never questioned whether I was an artist. I just knew.

I was 6 years old when I painted this-img_0503

Then I grew up…

I STILL never get bored. There are too many creative opportunities. Although, I’m happy to inform you that my imaginary friends left me a long time ago, I STILL don’t get lonely. I STILL love cardboard boxes, pencils, remnants of fabric and trim, paper, mud, wires, sticks, stones, paints, egg cartons, wood scraps, shiny foil, empty bottles, markers, paper clips and safety pins, broken jewelry, buttons and dandelion weeds.

Choosing a career…

Maybe I’m a bit too predictable but… this was an easy choice. I was going to be an artist. I focussed my skills on painting murals… my favorite, children’s rooms.

img_0508

Then I had 2 children of my own…

I adore my girls. I especially loved creating things for them and with them. We painted. We sewed. We built. We repurposed. We decorated. We cooked. We planned parties. We made up games, songs and stories. I wanted them to be free to explore and enjoy their creativity as well.

Environmental awareness…

My youngest daughter was plagued with asthma, allergies and eczema. As hard as I tried, my creative abilities were no match for this beast. The school environment was a major contribution to her suffering. We eventually had to homeschool her. She seemed to be allergic to everything. Through the years of creating children’s rooms, I’ve learned a lot about chemical sensitivities and VOCs. I wish that I would’ve known as much 30 years ago. Today, when I design a child’s room, I consider all those environmental factors. Recently, I developed an online mural and decal company that produces a biodegradable product with no chemical VOCs. It allows the parents the freedom to be their own artist and create a unique, eco-friendly mural for their child.

My girls are not little girls anymore…

They’re both happily married. In fact, soon, I will be a grandmother and I want to share with my future grandson, Milo, my love for cardboard boxes, pencils, remnants of fabric and trim, paper, mud, wires, sticks, stones, paints, egg cartons, wood scraps, shiny foil, empty bottles, markers, paper clips and safety pins, broken jewelry, buttons and dandelion weeds…

Today, I’m looking forward to helping my daughter and son-in-law design a nursery that will inspire creativity and sustainability for our little Milo. In addition to using my new eco-friendly decals, I am on a quest to locate other “GREEN” products and companies that have that same desire for children! Through my blog, “The Pure Child”, I will share all that I find with you!

img_0709

 

 

2 thoughts on “Why should you even read my blog?

Leave a Reply

